How long is single for too long?

10 05 2007

Ever since I parted ways with my ex, I have actually quite enjoyed being single. Enjoying all the things I have never done while being in a relationship: I’m not talking about the things I couldn’t speak to my mother about, but I suddenly started to thoroughly enjoy having strange meals at 3 at night, leaving home at 10 to go for a drink, …you get the picture. But today one of my friends made a throw away remark about being single for too long – and maybe no longer relationship material.

Of course, I am not at a stage yet that I am truly panicking that I may be more comfortable with my own company than anybody else’s, nor do I think that I am not relationship material. But I have to admit, that I am starting to rather enjoy being alone quite a bit more than I originally thought.
Sure, before this split – after a rather long 8 years – I was something of a serial monogamist. At stages very serial, but definitely never without a significant other for more than two weeks or so. Now I am alone for two months, and that, at least for me is a remarkable record.
Does it feel strange? Well not really, in fact it feels better every day at the moment. And then who said I have to live with someone, spend my evenings with them and (lets be honest) enjoy great sex for the first few weeks, and pretty much nothing all the time after that. Maybe I should just simply sit back, and enjoy the feeling of ultimate freedom, of living alone and doing nothing else than what I really want to do. But then again, maybe on occasion, I just like to think that I can share this with someone. Even the strange foods I now ritually eat at night…


Photo by John and Leanne.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment